Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fabulous syndrome

Well, I survived the weekend. Friday night I stayed home and watched TV, talked to friends on the phone, went to bed early. Saturday afternoon, I went to Ikea with Carlos and his friend George. Then we went to a barbecue benefit to raise money for our friend Rick who is dying of AIDS. Rick doesn't even recognize us anymore and I wanted to cry. It's sad enough that he's sick, but the thought of him sitting there weighing 80 lbs was almost unbearable for me. I have a hard time putting into words how terrible this disease is.

After that I was kinda down so Carlos and I went home and cuddled and watched TV for the rest of the afternoon. It was perfect.

This is where the good stuff starts. About 9:00 or so that night, George comes over to Carlos' house and they drink a bit before we go out. I was good and just drank water, and they drank those new Skyy vodka drinks. Supposedly they are pretty good if you like lemonade.

Well, about 10 we leave and go to Meteor. I don't go there all that often, and now I remember why. All the "fabulous" queens that try so hard to impress everyone confuse me. You know, I like nice things. Who doesn't? But I must say that I have never felt the need to impress everyone with every aspect of my life. Carlos and I call it the "fabulous syndrome". My best friend Seth in Dallas is suffering from this.

Also, I can't even begin to tell how many times I ran into Danny (remember him?) and his new boyfriend. I just pretended that I didn't see him and just tried to have a good time.

There were a new couple of guys out with us, and they are the kind of personality that are "on" all the time. I couldn't really get a work in because they talked nonstop. It was fine with me though because it took some of the heat off of me, and I didn't get in trouble with Carlos for not contributing to the conversation.

Well, about 12:30 they decide they want to go out dancing at Rich's. Well, I will be the first to admit that I look like Chandler from Friends when I dance, so knowing that, I choose not to. Well, they all went there to dance, so I'll just say that I stood there by myself for 2 1/2 hours trying to look cute. Meanwhile, I am also avoiding Danny and his ho-bag trick, so when we finally left at 3 AM, I thanked the Virgin Mary...the only virgin I could pray to. Trust me, there were no other virgins at Rich's that late into the evening.

So when most people would go home at that point like they are supposed to, they all decide that we need to go eat. By that point, I am extremely tired and ready to go to bed, but I somehow managed to plaster that stupid smile on my face and suck it up.

We finally got in bed at 5:15. I don't know about all you guys, but I am major maw-maw, and I was a mess all day yesterday as a result. I did get snaps up from Carlos though....he told me he was proud of me that I didn't complain once the whole night.

Well, I'm glad he couldn't read my mind.

12:22 p.m. - 2002-07-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse