Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

where am I moving to?

I find all the time that I can't remember many of the details from the time when I was using drugs. Just the other day at the center, I was talking with a guy that recently entered the program that I used to use with, and he made a comment along the lines of "remember the time we did this and that? that was so much fun!".

Well first of all, reminiscing will hardly keep us sober, and secondly I simply could not remember the incident he was describing. I find that seems to be the case about a lot of things during that era. Perhaps it's my mind's way of protecting me...blocking out a lot of those memories to keep me from taking them out of the proverbial trunk and wallowing around in them.

I haven't written about what happened to me yesterday morning. As I was getting ready for work, I turned on the sink in the kitchen, and when I turned the knob to turn the water back off, it wouldn't stop running. My sink tends to stop up rather quickly, and the water was coming out at an alarming rate, and it scared me. I had this same problem with the tub back in January, and it required a major overhaul because the hardware was original to the house (the 1920s).

Anywho, I had to shut off the water to the whole building at 5 AM, and the plumber didn't get there until 8 AM, so everyone in the other apartments had to get ready for work with no water. Too bad, so sad. I wasn't going to run the risk of leaving the water running and potentially flood my apartment. So the plumber put in a new washer, but he said the faucet needed to be replaced pronto.

In the midst of all this, I kept calling my landlord, and like usual he didn't answer the phone. When he called me back 6 hours later, I told him what happened, and while talking to him I heard myself say "Given the number of problems I've had in the last year with my apartment, I need to find a new place to live. Consider this my 30 day moveout notice." I'm still smarting from all the times that he'll tell me to call a plumber/electrician/whatever, then call him when it's time to pay so he can put it on his credit card. Then lo and behold when it's time to pay and I call, he doesn't answer the phone, therefore requiring ME to pay for it and deduct it from my rent. I don't like doing that because I consider it floating him a loan.

So anyway...what possesed me to give my moveout notice yesterday? Wow. So I now am seriously looking, whereas before only halfass looking. As odd as it sounds, I'm grateful that I had that plumbing catastrophe yesterday because it was what I needed to get going looking for a new place. Lemons/lemonade.

I can't wait to move into my cute new place...wherever it is!

8:07 a.m. - 2007-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse