Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm going to tell you a secret

In sobriety, I learn something new about myself almost every day. Some things are big, and some are not so big. Tonight I learned something that I never knew about myself, and when it hit me, my mouth fell open. I'm almost ashamed to write it here, but it's just between us right? Please don't hate me for saying this, but....

i hate dogs

There, I said it. I even whispered it and made it in pink to make it less hateful. But alas, it's true: I don't just minorly dislike them...I wish someone would round them all up and ship them to a deserted island where they can bark and poop and hump themselves silly.

I saw an ad today in the Houston Press for the cutest duplex, and tonight I went to take a look at it. Cute yard, big trees, central AC and heat...what's wrong with this place? Then I got out of the car and heard the noise coming from the adjacent unit : barking from multiple dogs. Umm....no thanks. I got back in the car and went on my merry way.

I have never really lived with dogs until I had a boyfriend that had 2 little Maltese, and I just didn't understand the point of dogs that were in the house all the time. Growing up we had a dog that stayed in the backyard all the time, so the concept of having dogs indoors is just so foreign to me. Anwyho, whenever his dogs would get near me, I'd hold one hand out to keep them from coming any closer.

One time I finally said "I love your dogs and all, but do they have to touch me all the time?".

"Umm...they're dogs. Lap dogs to be exact. That's what they do," he said.

"But will you do me a favor and have them ask before they touch me?"

It didn't go over well. Sometimes I think part of the reason we broke up is because of those dogs...we couldn't ever go anywhere longer than 3 hours at a time because the dogs had to be walked/fed/oiled/rotated. In fact, when I found out that guy I had lunch with last weekend has 2 Siberian huskies, I mentally checked out right then. But I digress....

So back to my point: you know how hard it is to find an apartment where Cujo isn't living upstairs? It ain't easy.

8:44 p.m. - 2007-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse