Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

taboo words

Last night my dad called me as I was getting ready for bed and asked me if I was on drugs again. When I asked why he'd ask that, he said because the last time I went this long without calling, it was because I was using. I paused, took a deep breath, and told him that no, I'm not on drugs....I'm just disappointed in my mother and I probably won't call home again for a long time. He said that she was disappointed in me too, so I said that she needed to learn to stop getting to upset over things that she can't control.

So we chat a bit more, and I mention that I'd talked to my sister about this, and he asked "Did you tell her that you got...you know...those things?"

< sidenote > Both my folks have a hard time saying certain words...presumably because they just can't get the words to come out of their mouths. For example, my dad never says the words drugs. He asks if I'm taking medicine again. HIV and AIDS becomes my "illness". They also can't say the word gay. Apparently tattoo is another taboo word. < end sidenote >

So I say "Yeah, I told her, and she thinks mother making a bigger deal than she should."

Then he tells me not to talk to my sister about it. He says that my mother and her and finally beginning to repair their relationship, and he doesn't want me to influence her. Huh?

To keep from saying something I shouldn't, I just said I had to go and basically hung up.

My family drives me insane. I know they are waiting for me to call and beg for forgiveness, and I'm not going to do that.

I realize that I just started my day out with complaining. I needed to get this out though. So let me mention a few things that I am grateful for:

- for my fab new apartment

- that I'm careening into my 7th month as a non-smoker

- that today is Friday, and I have no plans yet. I can make it up as I go.

5:58 a.m. - 2007-04-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse