Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

desperate love

I am reading the best book ever right now: Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I'd heard about the book a few times because she'd been on Oprah, and each time I'd made a mental note to pick the book up next time I went to the bookstore.

I'm only on Chapter 7 at the moment, however there have been so many little verses that have blown my skirt up. This one in particular because it sounds like something I'd read in the Big Book or Living Sober:

In desperate love, we always invent the characters of our partners, demanding that they be what we need of them, then feeling devastated when they refuse to perform the role we created in the first place.

I look back at the relationship I was in 2 years ago right after I got sober and subsequently found my way to AA. Long story. However yesterday I got a bit reminiscent of that relationship because of Valentine's Day, and lo and behold I read this and realized it was a desperate relationship. That poor guy was just playing a role that I had invented in my head, and although it was excitement and compatibility like I'd never imagined (heh), it was doomed from the word go.

So anywho, that's what I'm thinking about this morning. That and that I need another relationship right now like I need a hole in the head.

Today is Friday, y'all. Enjoy. It's going to be another great day.

5:25 a.m. - 2008-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse