Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

minor annoyances

DISCLAIMER: I love my boyfriend with all my heart. I really do. His great qualites far outweigh his shortcomings, however give me a moment to do a bit of complaining. Deep breath. Here we go:

Greg's memory is that of about a 4 year old. Story time:

My apartment has a front and back door, and Saturday he was at my house and we went to go run around shopping. Well, his car was parked in the back under the carport, so when we left we went out the back door. He locked the keyless deadbolt on the front door saying "well, we'll be parking in the back when we get back so I'll lock the front from the inside." When we get home, he parks in the front and while I'm gathering up my bags, he goes in the front door to the building alone. I hear all these horrible banging noises and I run inside to find him kicking the front door and croutching down about to ram the door with his shoulder in an effort to forcefully open the door. I shriek, drop my bags and clutch my pearls, and scream "What on earth are you doing?!!! You locked the door from the inside, remember?!!!" That's when I get the puppy dog eyes and the "oh yeah....I forgot." If I hadn't come in there at that exact moment he would have knocked my door down seeing that my building is held together with chewing gum. AARGH!

His poor memory though doesn't get on my nerves as much as the fact that he doesn't listen to me when I talk. His mind is churning at 80 mph making mental lists of all the things he wants to do, and listening to me when I'm talking is just a hindrance. He generally does one of two things when he ignores me......he either completely tunes me out or continues talking about whatever is on his mind, regardless of the topic change. We hold conversations about completely different subjects quite often, and then when whatever event actually occurs that I have tried to tell him about, he has no idea what's going on. This is a snippet of an actual conversation we had a couple of weeks ago.

ME: "I won't be able to come over on Thursday night....I need to do some things around the house before my folks come this weekend."

HIM: 'I've decided that the Chatham Green for the bedroom will look great with the white crown molding....what do you think?"

ME: "I love that color...that's what I painted my living room. But are you listening to me? I'm not coming on Thursday."

HIM: "Do me a favor....next time you come, bring that leftover paint you have in the event that one gallon doesn't cover my whole room."

So come Thursday night, I got call from Greg at 6 PM.

HIM: "Where are you? I've been waiting on you for an hour".

ME: "Greg, I told you on Saturday that I wasn't coming tonight. I assumed that you processed the info but just chose not to respond."

HIM: "You never told me that....when did you tell me this?"


Aaargh again! This is the Cliff Notes version of my life. I just told Greg on Sunday that if he listened to me more, he might have a little more ammunition when we argue about something. As it is now, in the odd event that I am actually wrong and we argue, all I have to do is just tell him that he just doesn't remember.

When he actually DOES listen, he tends to hear whatever he wants. He can't be bothered with little details about things, such as someone's proper name, and I spent half the time trying to figure out who he is actually talking about. For example when Kanye West made that comment about Bush on the Katrina telethon, Greg kept asking me if I'd heard what Cayenne had said? Was Cayenne a drag queen? The latest appointee to the Supreme Court? No, it took a while to figure out that he meant Kanye, not Cayenne. When I tell him "no Greg....it's Kanye" he just says "whatever!". Have you ever heard of Hannah Nicole Smith? Me either!

Of course, I seriously need to get over my supreme need to be right about everything. While watched "I Love the 80s" on VH1 the other day, they did a small piece on DeBarge, the singing group. He kept insisting that it was called El Debarge, and I kept trying to tell him that no, that was the name of the singer. He said "fine....let's get online and let me prove you wrong." Sure enough, I was right. He seriously should learn when it comes to absolutely useless trivia he should just throw in the towel and assume that I'm right. It would save sooo much time if he just agreed with everything I say.

One more thing while I'm on the topic, he has absolutely no idea what any of my friends' names are, despite the fact that he's met most of the people I've talked about. He's been around my friend Maddey at least 10 times, yet every time he refers to her as the "rugmuncher with the ugly girlfriend". For some reason he remembers all my friends by their house decor or their physical stature.

Example:

HIM: "Is the girl with the curly hair and her husband coming over?"

ME: "Which girl with curly hair?"

HIM: "You know......the one with the crown molding."

Yep, there is only one curly headed girl with a husband and crown molding in all of Houston. He has met Mrs. Curly Headed Crown Molding 4 times for a total of like 40 hours, plus I talk about her daily. Short circuit or laziness? I give up. I think I might start referring to his friends the way he does mine.

"So is Black Hole Bottom coming over? You know....the one that picks up guys at stoplights and drags them back his place."

Heh.

8:01 a.m. - 2005-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse