Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

read the directions

Oh goodness.....I'm updating two days in a row. What is the world coming to?

My Halloween was just an absolute JOY! When I left work at 4:15 yesterday, it was raining so hard that I couldn't see the road and water was standing 6" deep on the freeway. At one point I thought I might have to pull over and wait the storm out, but I persevered. I finally got home at 5:30. I was supposed to go straight to Greg's house, but there was no way I was going to drive past the Galleria on 610 with the traffic and weather that way. So I waited until about 6:45 when things let up a bit, yet it still took 45 minutes to get to Meyerland. By the time I got there, it was almost time to come back home. The highlight of the night was the Medium marathon that NBC had going, and even though they were all reruns, I'd never seen them. Good stuff. I don't generally watch much live TV anymore. Last night after I caught up on the tivo'd Mediums, I realized I was watching live TV. Quelle horror!

I'm waiting for the day that all shows can be downloaded. Greg and I were talking about this last night, and I hope that they do it so that perhaps the day it is set to broadcast, you can just download the whole show. I guess then if you had that all in one thing where your computer is hooked up to your TV, etc, then you could just watch shows on command. I saw that all in one thing at Microcenter this weekend, but what it's called escapes me. Sounds great, but what happens when your computer crashes, much like mine now, and then you can't watch TV or use your DVD player because it's all in one. I bet you are going to see everything integrated into computers before too much longer. People will be rebooting their toilets and refrigerators and the very latest in virus threats will convince your toaster that it is actually a vibrator. I can't wait.

Anywho, when I got home around 10:30, I had to park on the street because a neighbor had friends over that had taken up all the parking spots. I had to park on the street and got up at 30 min intervals to look out the window to make sure someone hadn't kicked my window in to steal my Kylie Minogue CDs. At 1 AM, I finally surrendered and pulled my car in the parking in the back that requires a crowbar to get my car out. Backing down the driveway this morning in the dark with 3" to spare on both sides of my car was super fun.

And that brings me to now! So much for the glass being half full today.

New topic: boyfriends are such hard work. Holding back "I told you so"s are the hardest thing ever for me. HARDEST THING EVER I TELL YOU! Here's a story to illustrate my point:

When Greg bought his new TV on Saturday, I suggested reading the directions before he set it up. Heck no! A tv is a tv after all....why read the directions? He's been watching them for 32 years mind you. So we hook everything up, hoist it up to the shelf where it will be living, then push the power button. Nothing. He checks the power cord. Nothing. He then gets all huffy and starts getting short with me when I suggest reading the directions. He yells he wants to get it down and take the stupid thing back and how dare they sell him a defective unit. I calmly look at the book and see that you have to press the Master Power button on the back on the TV, and once I do that, the TV magically powers on. "How did you do that?" he asks. I reply sweetly "I read the directions" then stalk out of the room. Later he apologizes to me for snipping at me, yet he follows up with "wouldn't you be upset if you spent $2000 on a tv that you thought was broken?". I tell him probably so, but I on the other hand would have read the directions and might would have cut any frustrations off at the pass. Since then I try to throw the words "read the directions" into any conversation I can. Last night he cooked dinner and his stuffing was somewhat akin to fiberglass insulation. I asked him "did you read the directions?". Turns out that you were to add the stuffing to the boiling water then turn off the stove. He left it on. Amazing what following the directions will do!

Ok, I'm done with my reading the directions diatribe. I just like to think that it's a good thing he found me when he did otherwise he might not know the right way to do anything......


10:52 a.m. - 2005-11-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse