Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

weekend update

Monday morning. I really didn't have an exciting weekend at all. I watched TV and shopped, and that's about it.

Shopping.....our shopping jaunt included a quick trip to Ikea to buy a curtainrod for Greg's bedroom and I got this fancy ergonomic pillow for my bed that has memory foam in it and supposedly keeps an even temperature through the night. It hurts my neck....go figure. We then hit Michaels' because they had their prints 25% off and I had some great wood frames that I painted black and needed something to put in them. I found some Asian style prints for $10 each and they now live in my dining room.

Anywho from there we walked next door to Best Buy, and that's when the fun began. I've been having issues with my TV....well I've had it since 1995, and being that old it doesn't have AV jacks at all, and I have to use some sort of converter box to hook up my DVD player. Also, it's only a 19", and my living room is so large that I feel like I need binoculars to see it from the couch. Also, I just bought a new player Thursday night, I had an itch to look at a new TV. Now the new and improved Matt v.2 knows that possessions do not make me happy whatsoever. They might make me smile for a while, but that happy feeling fades fast. I learned that when I bought my car.

So Greg wanted me to look at these 32" flat screen LCD TVs that were like $2000, and I can't justify it seeing that #1, I am never home, and #2, when I do watch TV mostly, it's at Greg's house. So I finally plunked down $400 at Circuit City on a nice Samsung after we'd looked at Best Buy, Walmart, Target, and then Circuit City. I labored over my decision because I'm not dripping with money, and if I bought something I was going to debit it out of my acct instead of opening a store credit acct and then have yet another thing I'm paying off monthly. Then after I bought it, I kept asking Greg if I'd done the right thing, and he was over me big time. He goes out and buys big ticket items all the time, however spending money just makes me depressed usually. When we got it all setup, I didn't even want to watch it. Heh.

He then trumped me that night when I went back to his house. As soon as I walk in the door, he tells me he wants to run to Microcenter where lo and behold he buys at 32" flat screen LCD TV just like the one he wanted me to look at earlier in the day. So we lug that home, as well as the additional tivo he bought to go along with it, and the rest of night I sat in the living room while he played with his new toys in the bedroom. Sunday was much of the same. He spent most of the day messing around with his new TV and all the accoutrements that go with it. Men and their toys.

I thought about using at least 84894 times this weekend. I don't know what it is, but everything seems to jog my memory relating to something during that time of my life. Here's a really dumb example: watching TV last night, there was a Revlon commercial on with Halle Berry where she says some shit like "It's Fabu-lash". Well, this made me flash back to the first time I saw that commercial back in April when Lucas and I were watching TV and we laughed at how dumb that was. That made me think of how we used to use drugs together for days at a time, and I actually found myself for a split second thinking "those sure were good times....". Aargh! I also find myself dreaming about using every night without fail, and when when I wake up, I actually feel hung over. How the heck does that happen?

Changing the subject, I need something exciting to look forward to. Right now I have absolutely nothing I can think of. I realize that life is all about creating your own motivation to get out of bed in the morning, but I am the type that needs some sort of carrot dangling in front of my face for me to put one foot in front of the other. I wish I could win the lottery. I would be so good at being wealthy. I swear I'd spend my money on things to help beautiful the world such as stylish new shoes for the poor....


9:27 a.m. - 2005-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse