Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

grandfather clause

Is it Wednesday already? I always start to feel better come about Wednesday because I know the week is half over. So far I don't have any big plans for the weekend, however given what I've endured going to and from work every day, I think I might deserve a drink or two. Or twelve.

OMG, The Amazing Race last night was so good. I don't think I have any fingernails left from sitting there chewing on them. I was hoping those evil twin bitches would be the team eliminated, but no such luck. I kinda liked the old man and his daughter that had to go! I also don't really care for the black couple or the fat brothers. I do however like the "little person" and her cousin. They can be kinda annoying at times, but who doesn't like little people that do cartwheels? I certainly do.

One of the girls in my carpool called in sick this morning. She called me around 6 AM and told me that she wouldn't be in today. She is rather famous for being out of work often, and I can deal with that as long as it's not on a day when she is supposed to drive. I will not take kindly to that.

I am going to be adventurous and head over to the mall on my lunch today. We are across the waterway from the Woodlands mall, and there's every restaurant and shopping place anyone could ever ask for. This could be both good and bad. There's a huge Barnes and Noble that I can see out the window as I type this, and I think I might have to pick up the new David Sedaris book. It has been highly recommended. I read online that Augusten Burroughs has a new book coming out in October. I cannot wait. I need something to read.

I need to do something nice for my lovely boyfriend. Something other than taking him out to dinner or buying him a card. I need to rack my brain on that one. His birthday is in about a month, and I need to think of something really good to get him. He normally leaves really good hints at what he might want, but this year I really have no idea. I wonder if he'll have Tasha throw him a birthday party this year like he usually does? I kind of hope not, but I'll just go with the flow. I personally don't like to make a big deal of birthdays, but different strokes...

I found out that the other girl in my carpool that does the same job as me (and not the one that called in sick) interviewed and got another job here at our company. I would desperately love to get me another job with the company, however I've mentioned the whole 2 year rule thing. Even though they said that we fall into some "grandfather clause", I am skeptical. They say to feel free to apply for anything we think we might be qualified for, however I think there's about a snowball's chance in hell of getting it. They would rather hire someone from outside the company and train them as newbies than promote one of us. We're too hard to replace. That sucks big fat donkey dong.

Things are somewhat quiet today. I sincerely hope that it stays that way. I could use a break.

It's only 10 AM. This is going to be a long day.

10:05 a.m. - 2004-07-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse