Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOT EVERYONE IS GOING TO LIKE ME

Tuesday.

When I went to the optometrist yesterday, he said he could see why I was getting headaches all the time because my prescription has completely changed since my last exam 2 1/2 years ago. My left eye is a mess. So I go back in about a week for them to put in my new lenses. With my insurance, it was only $120 including the exam and my new lenses. Not bad.

Carlos called earlier and asked if I was going to work out after work. I told him no, that I had workout clothes but had forgotten to pack my shoes. He then offered to bring them to me. LOL....is he trying to tell me something?

Why am I so darn sleepy today? Are there tsetse flies in Texas? Right now it's taking everything I have to keep from putting my head down on my desk and completely crashing. I went to bed last night at 9:15. What's the deal? It's cloudy and somber outside....maybe that has something to do with it.

I just looked down and saw my socks. They looked like mates when I put them on this morning, however one is jet black and the other one has kind of a greenish-black color to it. It looks really nice.

Has anyone read David Sedaris' new book yet? I'm dying to go pick it up and check it out. I was listening to some clips of the book that he read on NPR, and it sounds wonderful. I can't wait! Right now Carlos is reading that book Dry by Augusten Burroughs that I mentioned I'd bought last week. After I finished reading it, I left it lying around the house, so Carlos picked it up and started reading it. I'm not sure if I want him to seeing as how it deals with rehab and the author's drinking problem, but whatevs. Carlos knows about me. In fact he pretty much came out and asked me about it on Saturday, but I pulled an "ohhhhh, you!" and changed the subject. He has also made the comment, about 50 times, that Augusten and I sound alike, and even look alike based on the picture on the back cover. Then lo and behold the author was on that show "The Best Week Ever" on VH-1 this weekend, and he DOES look like me. Spooky.

I was so lazy last night. Of course, that really isn't any different than any other night, but I thought I'd mention it. I went home, took a big nap, cooked dinner, and then lay on the couch all night until time to go to bed. That is my life. Carlos was off work yesterday, and on the days that he's home when I get home from work, he wants to watch the Cartoon Network until about 6:00. Then at 9:00 the cartoon thing starts again, at which point I go get in bed. I just am not a big cartoon fan at all, and I never even liked cartoons when I was a kid. I am just not interested.

Have I ever mentioned Buffy, the woman here at work that isn't very nice to me? Buffy scares the heck out of me for some reason, and I try to just stay out of her way. She's one of those that if you end up on her bad side, she will make your life absolutely miserable because her sheer power of intimidation. (Remember Mimi from my diary a couple of years ago? They are just alike.)

There is another Jonathan here at work that sits on the other side of the wall from me. That leads to much confusion around here as you can imagine. Buffy took an immediate dislike to him for some reason, and since then her goal has been to make him as miserable as possible. One of her methods is to talk about people loud enough so that they can hear her, and the other day someone said something about "Jonathan". She then yells "Smart Jonathan or dumb Jonathan?" REALLY loud so we would both hear her. I am presuming that I am smart Jonathan, and the dumb Jonathan part was for Jonathan # 2 to hear. She is often loudly talking about how dumb the other Jonathan is to try to intimidate him.

J2 is different than me in the respect that he just lets everything roll off his back, whereas I would have thrown a fit. Well, about a week ago, I was called into my supervisor's office and asked what I thought about the way that this woman treats everyone. I was honest and said that she scared me and thought she tried to intimidate people just for kicks. The next day, our whole work group was called into a conference room and told that they would not put up with our crap. Then one by one we were all called in the office to discuss our "performance". I was told that I hadn't done anything wrong, and that they were happy I am taking the "high road". Whatever that means. Basically I think they reprimanded all of us in an effort to just discipline that one evil woman, and they didn't want to single her out. Again, I think they did that because of her powers of intimidation.

Since that day, this woman has been very cool to me, and she is not speaking to me at all even if I walk by her in the hall. I am thinking that they might have told her that they asked me my opinion of how she acts and then told her what I said. But you know, I told the truth. What was I to do?

Something I have worked on all my life is dealing with the fact that not everyone is going to like me. It's inevitable. I have a strong personality, and not everyone is going to like me. Period. When I meet someone that doesn't immediately take to me, I wonder what I have done for them not to like me, yet I know that I simply can't concern myself with that. For example, when we went to San Antonio a couple of weeks ago, Steve's friends didn't take to me as well as they did Carlos and Greg, and since then I've wondered what it was about me that they didn't like. In reality, I should be like 'who the fuck cares', but things like that bother me. I must get over that.

NOT EVERYONE IS GOING TO LIKE ME ALL THE TIME. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING I CAN DO ABOUT THAT. NOTHING.

But I still let it get to me.

9:00 a.m. - 2004-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse