Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

never sleep with your boss

Wednesday. I wish I'd thought to use the clipper on my neck this morning before work. About once a week, I have to clip the stray hairs that have suddenly decided to grow there to keep from looking like Chewbacca. Why is it that the older I get, the hair that I want slowly goes away, yet I start growing hair in other, less desirable places? Getting old sucks.

I went to the hospital last night and hung out with my dad. We watched Miss Congeniality on TBS, and I ordered dinner from room service. It really isn't bad food at all....he had grilled salmon and I had soft chicken tacos. Something about the smell of hospitals makes me queasy, and combined with the meds I'm on, I was one gross thought away from tossing chicken tacos all over the floor. Somehow I held it down. Later that night, I was so tired when I went to bed! I don't even really remember lying there long. I guess my insomnia has gone away.

I came into work this morning and didn't have any messages. This has only happened once before. I hope it's indicative of what is to come today. So far this week in general hasn't been bad work wise. In fact, at one point yesterday I was reading a book just to pass the time. I can really use the down time.

I think I will continue my story that I wrote yesterday about my experience after I broke up with Shannon, my first boyfriend here in Houston. After Shannon and I broke up, I started hanging out with Seth again the summer of '98. We went outo the bars a lot, and one night he introduced me to some guys that he knew from college, a couple named Dave and Jon. We decided to all go back to their house to hang out after the bars closed. There, we drank many Bloody Marys and hung out.

Long story short, I'm not sure how it happened, but I ended up sleeping with BOTH Dave and Jon that night. They were relatively cool guys, and we spent a lot of time together after that point. I still slept with both of them, off and on, for a few months. I had a horrible job at the time working in sales, and with my anxiety issues, making cold calls would make me break out in a cold sweat. Dave suggested applying at his company because they were hiring, so I sent my resume and interviewed the same day. I got the job! What I didn't know was that Dave was going to be my new boss. Whatevs, I decided. We got along great outside of work, so why couldn't we work together? So I gave my notice at my current job and started there two weeks later.

Now Dave and I travelled a lot for this job, and off in hotel rooms in God knows where, you guessed it....we'd sleep together. Jon didn't care. He'd show up sometimes in whatever city we were in, and then all three of us would fall into bed together after a night of heavy drinking. It seems like we all did a LOT of drinking together.

My new job with Dave entailed getting up in front of up to 1000 high school students at a time and give presentations, as now I was a sales rep for an art school here in Houston. Talk about anxiety! Goodness, if I thought that cold calls were bad, this was pure hell. Plus I was sleeping with my boss and his boyfriend! I had to get out of this, so one day I walked in and quit. The director of the the department asked me point blank what I had lined up, and I looked him right in the eye and told him I had no idea, but I'd starve to death before I'd get up and talk in front of one more high school auditorium.

That was one of the lowest points in my life. After I quit, I didn't find another job for close to 4 months, and I pretty much drank myself into a stupor. In fact, I remember the day I went in and quit, I was so hung over that I was shaking. Class.

After that point obviously, I wasn't really friends with Dave and Jon anymore. The thought of being around them after I quit was more than I could handle. A few months later I ran into them at JRs, and guess who they were hanging out with? Shannon, my ex-boyfriend that started this whole long story to begin with. Apparently they were doing Shannon now. Talk about six degrees of separation.

Even more degrees of separation? My loser sister, Mere-death lives in San Diego working for the same art school that I worked for. Guess who her boss is? You guessed it! Dave! He and Jon picked up and moved there a few years ago, and I don't even know how they met. Don't you know that the horrible things they say about me? LOL...I shudder when I think about it.

What's that quote by Quentin Crisp?

The very purpose of existence is to reconcile the glowing opinion we hold of ourselves with the appalling things that other people think about us.

Somehow that sums things up nicely.

8:38 a.m. - 2004-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse