Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am torn

I really got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning. Or is it possible to go home from work on the wrong side of the bed? Whatever. If I could just turn my brain off and stop thinking about things, everyone including myself would be a lot better off.

When I got back from lunch yesterday, I was called into my supervisor's office to have a shut-door question and answer. To give the Cliff Notes version, there's a list that is supposed to be maintained somewhat regularly, and the one we have now hasn't been updated since 2001. Suddenly it was decided it was an emergency to make sure it is current, even though it's basically a list of customers that will soon be cut in the next 2 weeks by a third. So when the IT group came to me and asked what they needed to do, I told them they might want to hold off otherwise they'd be doing double work.

So, I leave for lunch and don't think a thing about it. When I return, my boss is fuming. Did I tell them not to do it? No, I didn't. Did I tell them to hold off? Yes, I did. She in a roundabout way told me not to undermine her authority and then I was on my way.

The real issue is that she doesn't really have any real authority. Her boss keeps her thumb on her so tight that she doesn't ever get to make any decisions. As a result, she makes a really big deal over very minor things that she can control. That in turn makes it miserable for us because we fear going over her head and pissing her off.

Enough about that. It could be a really long day if I start out in the wrong mindset. They are having a going away party today for my backup here at work as she is "retiring" after 35 years of working here. Really they are making her retire, but no one will actually talk about that. So we are doing the potluck thing for lunch, and then everyone is going for drinks after work. I would sooner have bamboo shoved under my fingernails, but seeing as how she's MY backup, I'd be horrible for not going. I just hate, hate, hate going places after work!

Last night, Julie came over and she, Carlos, and I watched the Bachelor. I made a pan of fudge, and between that and the popcorn, we pretty much ate all night long. I was happy to see that he didn't sleep with Trish, but he's retarded anyways. It was good to see Julie. I don't think we had seen her since that night last year that we took her to the lesbian bar! I haven't seen K in even longer than that....I think since we went to lunch back in October. She got a new job and is all "busy" now and doesn't have time to email back and forth. Whatevs. Her birthday party is next weekend, and it's a freaking crawfish boil. I'd rather lick someone's toes than eat a crawfish, so that should be interesting. Supposedly they are grilling chicken for those of us that don't care for crawfish.

I really wish sometimes that I was a nicer person. The one thing I really would like to stop doing is talking about other people. It's just so easy to do! When that lady at work shows up wearing hot pink panties with her see through white skirt, how do you help but say something?

Give me your opinion on something: If someone says something negative about one of your friends, is it gossiping to go tell them what was said? I'm torn on that one.

9:48 a.m. - 2004-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse