Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Under the Tuscan Sun

Why didn't someone tell me how incredible the movie Under the Tuscan Sun is? I went to Blockbuster yesterday afternoon to rent something for Carlos and me to watch last night, and when I took it to the front to check out, the guy that works there looked at me knowingly and said "You are really going to enjoy this movie." Damn was he correct.

I found it touching, thought provoking, inspiring, romantic, and sad all at the same time. It's about a woman whose husband leaves her for another woman. As a result, her best friend gives her a ticket to tour the Italian countryside, namely Tuscany, as an escape. Should I mention that it's a gay and lesbian tour? Anywho, while she is there, she on a whim purchases a ramshackle old house and begins the process of both finding herself and creating her version of a family.

One reason why this strikes such a chord with me is because I have always loved the thought of running away with nothing more than the clothes on my back and starting over somewhere exotic. Also, without ruining it for those who have not seen it (yet....I hope that my encouragment will make you want to see it), I find it interesting that it accurately portrayed how we sometimes may not get what we were hoping for, however sometimes that is even better in the long run.

Her affair with Raoul Bova definitely added the eye candy part. He's the hottie that's in those Gap ads running right now where he's "free to do what he wants". He is smouldering. I am still chuckling at how he declared he was going to "make love all over" Diane Lane.

I need to move to Tuscany and have Raoul make me feel better too.

2:46 p.m. - 2004-04-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse