Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

new memories

When I went to the thrift store the other day, I bought She's Come Undone by Wally Lamb. I initially found it rather verbose when I first read it back in 1998, however I love rereading books and finding things I didn't notice the first time. Perhaps I just didn't have the patience to savor the flowery language the first time, but I am rather enjoying it this time. I brought it with me to work today....I hope I can steal some time and get in a few more pages. It's a story about a girl growing up that didn't quite fit in anywhere. I can completely relate.

I initally read this book en route to Montreal, Canada, and whenever I think back to that trip, I remember riding the metro, a bunch of signs saying sortie, and having a pocketful of looney and tooneys. I found Montreal so beautiful, so romantic, so gothic. There were so many beautiful old buildings, and combined with the old cobblestone streets, I sometimes found my heart hurting at its beauty.

Speaking of beauty, the swarthy gay boys were really cute, and eavesdropping on their conversations in French made me swoon. They could be saying "I need to buy cat litter" for all I knew, but my knees did get weak a few times. I think about that trip almost daily, reliving the beauty of something new. Exploration is fun.

I need to stop wallowing in my memories. Enough for one day. It's time to make some new memories.

8:24 a.m. - 2004-04-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse