Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate to hate....

I really dislike this time change. (I initially typed the word "hate" but retracted it because I'm trying to eliminate that word from my vocabulary. I hate people that hate.) Daylight savings time usually ends up making me feel like I have some sort of filmy substance smeared over my eyes that doesn't quite go away no matter what time of the day it is. Do you remember how they filmed Cybill Shepherd on her closeups on Moonlighting, like there was a film over the camera lens? That's what my eyes are like. It makes everyone so much more attractive.

Eyes. I want and need new glasses. Due to my insurance sitch, I haven't had my eyes checked since January 2002, and I'm sure my prescription has changed. I am rather digging the black plastic frames that everyone is wearing right now, however I'm afraid they might look like Revenge of the Nerds on me. Instead I'm going for the Rivers Cuomo look. I'll go check them out once I get insurance.

Oh yeah...I can't remember whether or not I mentioned here that my company wants to hire me. They chose me out of all the other contractors. That made me feel good, however do I really want to work here? To work or not to work....that is la question. Or is it insurance or no insurance? Either way, I need some sort of stability in my life career wise.

We have a weekly staff meeting on Tuesdays, and I "really dislike" them also. They are nothing but an hour where we all get together and our supervisors tell us everything that we do wrong. Then by the time we get back to our desks, we have to furiously play catch up so we can go home on time. It's SUPER fun. Wanna go in my place? Pats on the back are far and few between at this company. I have never been the type that had to have much affirmation that I was doing a good job, and good thing because we get none of that sappy stuff here. Going above and beyond the call of duty is our JOB and highly expected from management. I tell you, if the market wasn't so bad, I dare say that there wouldn't be many employees here.

It makes me so sad that there aren't that many good TV shows on right now. Last night I barely watched TV until Airline came on at 9 PM. I swear it's the only TV show on Monday nights worth watching anymore. I feel so sorry for all those employees on that show as they are generally talked to like the dirt under those passengers' feet. Has anyone else seen the one where the woman's wedding dress fell out of the hanging bag and was run over by the airport equipment? Love it, love it, love it. When the guy said "I think the main thing she'll be upset about are the tire tracks on her wedding dress," I about lost it.

I also really love the shows on the Discovery Health Channel. Everything but all those darn shows about women giving birth. There are too many darn babies in the world as it is. No point in romanticizing pregnancy and childbirth as far as I'm concerned....I just have no interest. I do however love the shows on weight loss, lowering stress, etc.

So instead I read a book last night. I checked out "A Buddhist Perspective on Wholeness" from the library last week, and I've read a few chapters here and there. I'm really digging it.

On the way home from Dallas on Sunday, we were all talking about our dreams. Lately I've been having the same dream over and over again: I'm driving in a car when I suddenly realize that I've ended up in the backseat. I then frantically try to get back in the front seat to somehow regain control of the car before I crash. At that point I wake up, heart racing and sweaty. Susie thinks that I have that dream because I am also trying to regain control of something in my life. She told me to consciously tell myself to see what happens if I stay in the backseat and not fight it. Interesting. Umm...but then I'd die, and isn't it really bad to watch yourself die in your dreams?

Dreams are really hard to interpret, at least for me. What does it mean when you dream you live in a furniture showroom, I wonder? I have that one too.

Maybe it means I need a new couch.

8:26 a.m. - 2004-04-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse