Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

abstinence makes the heart grow fonder

Home again, home again, jiggety jig. My trip was fun, although I'm sitting here wondering how things went so quickly. It was very, very laid back, and we didn't get dressed up once. We just hung out at people's houses and ate lots of good food. I loved it.

I left work around 3 on Friday and met them at Susie's house at 4. Traffic on 45 North is HORRIBLE, and we got to Susie's folks' house in Dallas around 10 PM that night. We then gorged ourselves on barbecue, baked beans, and potato salad, played a few rounds of 42, and then hit the sack around midnight.

Saturday morning, we got up at 7:30 and went on our respective missions after eating the biggest breakfast I think I've ever had. Susie went to visit a friend who just had a baby, and Maddey and I went to hang out with our friend Monica's mom who lives in Waxahachie. I've never been there, however it turned out to be a beautiful little city. Very old fashioned with the city square and big stone courthouse in the middle of town. We ate our 2nd breakfast of the day and then she took us on a tour of the city. We walked up and down the town square and shopped in the little antique stores. Fun stuff.

Talk about a mind fucker. I'll try to recount the story of Monica and her mom, however it's so confusing that I might lose you.

Monica and I were friends in college. One day, she came over to my apartment and was looking at my pictures when she said "OMG...how do you know this girl?". Well, Karen, the girl in the picture, and I were friends in high school and when we went to the community college by my folks house. Monica then busted out with "Did you know that she's my stepsister?! Her dad married my mom last year!" I didn't know that...I hadn't talked to Karen in close to 5 years. In fact, Karen and I were from Houston, whereas Monica lived in Dallas. I don't know how the heck they met. Talk about six degrees of separation.

So a couple of years ago, Monica told me that Karen's dad had been in jail because Monica's younger sister had come forth and told the family that her new stepdad (Karen's dad) had been molesting her. Turns out that he had been for a while, and he'd installed some sort of program on her computer that would log all her instant messages so he could read them later. So he'd go to the sister and say "if you don't want anyone to know that your friend Becky snuck out of the house Friday night, you won't tell anyone what I've been doing to you." Basically he was using her fear of having her friends get mad at her to keep her from ratting on him. Finally she got sick of it and told her mother who promptly had him arrested, put in jail, and started divorce proceedings. The scariest part is that Karen's dad was a retired police officer! Ugh...it makes me sick thinking about it.

So Monica's mother wanted to talk to me about Karen and how she acted growing up. You know, I didn't know what the deal was back then, but both Karen and her older sister were really fucked in the head, and now I think I might know why. He was probably abusing them too. As much as I felt uncomfortable talking about the whole thing, I could tell that Monica's mother desperately needed to talk about it. Perhaps to get some sort of closure.

Despite all that, we really did have a good afternoon.

So we left there around 5 and got back to Susie's house where we changed clothes and ran out the door to dinner. They asked if there was anything that Carlos wouldn't eat as this was my opportunity to eat it. I chose seafood, and we went to a really nice place on Lovers Lane. I had 15 huge fried shrimp as I left my diet in Houston. It was sooo good. Then we went to Susie's cousins house to sit on the patio and drink some wine. I myself am not a wine fan, so I sipped a beer while I listened to their stories and laughed.

Susie got sleepy around 11:30 (LOL...I'd gotten sleepy around 10), so we packed up and headed back to her house. I sat at their kitchen table and tried to converse with Susie and her mother but I could hardly keep my eyes open so I went to bed. I slept wonderfully.

Sunday morning we got up at 7:30 and went to Breadwinner's for breakfast. Well, our breakfast buddies that met us there are the owners, so needless to say we were treated like royalty. It was heaven.

Once we got back to Susie's, it was time to load the car and head home. So off we went, and I walked back in my front door at 4:30. That was my trip.

I'm not digging this time change at all. As hard as it was driving to work facing the bright sun, I think it's even worse driving to work in pitch black darkness. My body felt like it was 4:45 this morning when the alarm went off.

Remind me to go out of town more often. My boyfriend has been super nice to me since I got home. Absence makes the heart grow fonder.

Or is it abstinence?

11:43 a.m. - 2004-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse