Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hispaniards

I haven't been very good about updating the last few days.

I had a good weekend even though it went waaay too fast. Friday night I went out to dinner with Carlos, then when he went out to Meteor and South Beach, I stayed home and chatted online with my buddy Chris. Very enjoyable.

Saturday I got up around 10 and went to my favorite thrift store over in the Heights. I found that book The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen that I've been wanting to read so long........for only a dollar! Hardback no less! That's the book that ended Oprah's book club because when she announced she wanted it to be her book of the month, he refused and pissed her off. Somehow, and I'm not sure how, they had already started coming out with the book jackets embossed saying "Oprah's Book Club" even though they were not. This one says it. I hope it becomes a collector's item. So far the book is great. The whole first chapter is about a retired couple, and wow, it really rings true as it sounds as if my parents were thinking out loud. I love finding books that remind me of things that are going on in my life.

Then Saturday afternoon I piddled around all day, cleaning house and cooking. Carlos came home around 5 PM and we ate dinner and then watched Queer as Folk until time to go to bed. I ordered him Season 3 on DVD for Valentine's Day (a romantic gift, eh?), and it arrived last Thursday. This season only has 14 episodes for some reason, and we're already half done. I get irritated when I watch it because it I personally don't know anyone that goes out to the bars and clubs to the extent that these characters do. I'm sure there are some gay people like that, however I find myself wanting to yell at the screen at all the messes they are always getting themselves into due to ignorance. Well no shit your relationships suck when you're at a bar until 2 AM every night while your partner is at home alone. (LOL, read paragraph # 2 above).

Sunday I literally lay around all day. When Carlos got home from work at 5, I still hadn't even gotten dressed yet. I was clean seeing as how I'd taken two bubble baths while reading my book, however I had PJs on. I cooked dinner and we watched the Oscars until bed time.

That leads to now. Here I am. Fun stuff.

Changing the subject, there is a politician here in Houston that makes a big deal of saying in his Congress election ads that he is opposed to all the illegal aliens here in Texas. He is determined to stop them from swimming across the river, and when my dad caught wind of this and the following gem of a comment:

"Those damn Hispaniards are taking over the world!"

I've heard of Hispanics and I've heard of Spaniards, but Hispaniards is a new one.

3:18 p.m. - 2004-03-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse