Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

can you replicate good times?

Ok...third entry of the day.

Remember the company that I said I might be interviewing with that was downtown? Well my agency just called back a minute ago, and I found out that it's with Shell...the same company that I was with before I left and went to the last job that I was let go from. It's working in a completely different department, however it's doing pretty much the same thing that I do here and am making a ton more money doing. However, there I pretty much know what I might be getting myself into. I'm not sure what to think about that.

It was a really big mistake to have left there in the first place, however who knew? Do you think it's a bad idea to go back? Am I just setting myself up for disappointment thinking it might be like it was before?

Leave me your thoughts, please.

Have you ever done something that turned out to be a lot of fun? And then if you ever tried to replicate it again later, it just wasn't the same. You could never make it like it was the first time.

I have a good example. When I was on a three month business trip in Ohio in 2001, I hung out with some fun coworkers on the weekends. We would go to different places to drink like the bar in the bowling alley and at the airport bar. LOL...remember, it was Ohio. Well, one night we decided to be wild and crazy and go to this redneck bar in Parma called The Flame. It was the biggest dive I've ever been in, and the patrons were a bit scary to boot. In fact, they didn't want us to take pictures in there because of all the people that were in there carrying out their extra-marital affairs. The proof is in the pudding you know.

Anywho, I had more fun that night that I think I've had in a long, long time. I don't know if I've had that much fun since then, and that was more than 2 years ago.

Well, one night before I left Ohio we decided we'd go back to The Flame and have just as much fun as we did that first time. We got there around the same time, got the same drinks, stood in the same place. It just wasn't the same though...in fact, we ended up going home and watching Baby Boy on DVD (which sucked). I realized then that good times simply cannot be revisited, no matter how hard one tries.

Going back to the job interview. Do you think I am just trying to replicate the good times I had back when I worked there the first time?

3:28 p.m. - 2004-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse