Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fresh off the Boat

I am savoring the quiet. I love it.

You simply must stop what you are doing and run to the store and buy the newest Nelly Furtado CD. I have played it so much that I hear it in my sleep. I love song #1, One Trick Pony. I also love #5, which is called Fresh off the Boat. Funny story about that...

New Year's Eve, Tasha's uncle threw a party for all their relatives, and let me tell you, there are like 100 of them. Tasha is Hispanic, and she has a huge family with like 10 aunts and uncles and I think 50 cousins. I love their parties because Mexicans can get their party on, I tell ya. Also all the men in her family are policemen...all of them. And nothing gets me revved up more than a big Mexican in a uniform. mmmkay?

Anywho, at the party, for some reason they were telling people to go get CDs out of their cars so we'd have something to listen to, so I went and got my new Nelly Furtado CD. I wanted Tasha to hear "Fresh off the Boat" which is one of my fav songs on there, so I put it on and say "Tasha...you've gotta here this song!"

So the song starts out with Nelly singing "fresh off the Boat....fresh off the boat...."

Cut to Tasha's mouth falling open.

Tasha: "Jonathan!!! Get over there and turn that song off now!!!!"

Me: "Why?"

Apparently Mexicans don't care for that saying "fresh off the boat" according to what Tasha told me. Something about immigration or something like that. Now in my little mind, Mexicans didn't take a fucking boat across the Rio Grande, but whatevs. Who knew?

Well, apparently it didn't play long enough for anyone to notice but Carlos, Tasha, and me. I managed not to get mauled by a group of angry Mexican policemen. (although the thought sounds mildly appealing)

I thought someone might find my story funny. Because after reading it over, perhaps it isn't. It made me chuckle a bit the next day though.

On that note...

"Fresh off the boat....fresh off the boat...."

7:24 p.m. - 2004-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse