Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Truth About Cats and Dogs

A good weekend indeed. Friday night, I took Carlos to our favorite Mexican restaurant, and then we watched Office Space for the 47th time. Then I left there and went over to Maddey's girlfriend's house and sat by the pool with them and drank a couple of beers. A friend of mine from college that goes wwwaaaayyy back was also there, and I swear, I haven't seen her in 10 years. That was rather random. Sometimes I think I know every lesbian in Texas.

Saturday I slept late and then watched "The Truth About Cats and Dogs". I'd forgotten how much I like that movie. Then I found this great new store called Just 99 Cents. I went crazy in there! I bought a whole basket full of stuff for only $35. Awesome.

That night Carlos came over and we watched TV. He's been staying at Tasha's house since they've been out of town because he had to take care of their dogs. I enjoyed having the house to myself initially, but now after being alone for a week, I'm kinda wishing he were back around. I think he'll be back on Wednesday.

Sunday I went out to the folks house and went shopping with my mom. I went shopping nuts. I got quite a bit of a bonus for going to London last week, and I ended up spending close to $500 yesterday on shoes, work shirts, and just general stuff I needed. It felt good to not worry about money. I made overtime for the whole time I was in London, not counting that my base hourly rate is $125 when I do that kind of consulting. woo-hoo!

My friend Diana from college just called. She and her husband tried for years to have a baby, and after going to doctor after doctor, they had their first child three years ago. Well, she told me that she just found out that she's pregnant again, and when I asked what they did to conceive this time, she told me drink a pitcher of margaritas and go country and western dancing. That made me laugh.

I spent last night writing Carlos' essay for a scholarship where applicants can only be Hispanic children of immigrants. Carlos said that he couldn't think of anything good to say, so I took the bull by the horns and wrote it for him. A snippet:

My parents are Mexican immigrants, and they came to America in search of better lives. Unfortunately, they found themselves working long hours for little pay. Uneducated, they struggled to provide for our needs, and my seven siblings and I often faced financial shortages for basic needs such as school supplies and clothes. From an early age, I understood the obstacles and limited opportunities that my parents faced, and I told myself that I needed to be self-reliant and strive for an education.

I'm the best boyfriend ever. If he doesn't get it, I'm going to be personally offended.

12:16 p.m. - 2003-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse