Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sadness

I just got back from a rather long lunch where we took my counterpart here at work out for her birthday. She's 26. I feel old.

I'm not in a good mood today at all, and I don't particularly feel like celebrating anything. I went home last night, did some yoga for a while, and waited for Carlos to come home from work. Once he got there, I didn't feel like talking much, and I could tell that he knew that something was wrong.

I got a big shot in my ass yesterday, as well as a one time antibiotic that you mix with water. I took it right after lunch yesterday, but I'm still all oozy and gross. I hope that goes away soon.

I'm currently reading the best book called Look at Me by Jennifer Egan. I came across a line last night that brought tears to my eyes:

Remembering his youth was a vexed experience for him; he understood that as a boy he had lived in blindness, but he knew, too, that some pain, an ache that nowadays accompanied him through each minute of his life, was yet absent. When he imagined himself as a child, he pictured a boy watching him across a doorway, through a screen, and a bubble of sorrow would break in his chest, as if he were seeing someone who had died or vanished inexplicably, a milk carton child, as if some vital connection betweeen himself and that boy had been lost. And despite all that he knew he was achieving now or trying to achieve, still he felt - inexplicably - that he had failed to fulfill the promise of that little boy, and was being visited by his unhappy ghost.

Awesome.

1:07 p.m. - 2003-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse