Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Club 202

Today is dragging so slowly. I don't think I'm ever going to get out of here!

Again, I'm the only one here at work today. My boss called in sick, my counterpart is on a Mexican cruise, and the older lady is at a funeral. As many funerals as the older lady has been to in the last few months, you'd think she was fucking Jessica Fletcher or something.

Carlos said that the Justina concert last night was 75% teenage girls and 25% gay men. Why is it that gay men never really grow out of their Tiger Beat phase?

This is my third summer here on Diaryland, and every summer I have to remind myself that no one updates as often. It makes me sad. :(

It also makes me sad to think that I got mad that time and deleted all my entries from the first time I was here. Man, I'd have like 600 entries now. Somehow though it was mildly cathartic getting rid of all the old shit and starting with a clean slate. Besides, it didn't take me long to dirty up the place around here.

Does anyone remember that group Belly? Whatever happened to them? I saw them in concert in 1993 when they played at Texas A&M while I was there. The reason I ask is because they're playing a Belly song right now on the pumped in music that plays all day long. I wonder if that music plays all night? If a tree falls in the woods, does it make a sound?

When I was in college, I remember the big deal was to take ephedrine and then drink beer on top of it. I was seriously fugged up when we saw Belly that time. After reading all the dirt on ephedra, it's a wonder that I'm not dead.

When I was in college, there was a little gay bar in downtown Bryan called 202. It later relocated up the street to another exotic location they called "The Club". Great monikers, no? Anywho, 202 was a complete dive. It was an old garage I believe, and the seats were old bus seats that were bolted to the ground. We bought lukewarm pitchers of beer and would drink it with ice because it was so hot. We'd go to the bar and say "I'd like a pitcher of Miller Lite and 4 mugs of ice." Ghetto. Ghetto fab it was not though.

As bad as 202 sounds, it really was quite fun. Every Friday night there was a drag show, and drag queens from around the state would come and perform. This was my first time to see drag queens up close and personal, and in fact my friend Jerry was a regular in them. He was rather famous for his Proud Mary rendition.

I met Seth there at 202 in September of 1993. I remember thinking that Seth was surprisingly butch, and I wondered if he had a cast on his wrist from doing something manly like playing football. Little did I know that he was the author of "How to be a Mary for Dummies" and had broken his wrist doing a line dance.

The gay bar in Bryan closed down a few years ago after they pissed off a group of lesbians who banded together and vowed never to return. So subsequently, the Club (nee 202) lost a big part of their business and had to close their doors. Real fucking smart lezzies, closing down the one gay bar in town because one of you was kicked out for fighting. Talk about kicking yourself in your own snatch. So I'm not sure what the gay boys and girls do now that there's no bar there. Poor things. Hopefully they're out making friends the old fashioned way and not wasting their formative years hanging out in a smoky bar like I did.

Good times. How did I get to be so darn old?

2:24 p.m. - 2003-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse