Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

insurance woes

Well, that guy called me yesterday and told me that he wanted me to go through his insurance. That's not what I really wanted to hear because if that is the case, then I'm sure they will just offer me what my car is worth, and that's not much.

Does anyone know what happens when someone hits your car and the damage is more than the car is worth? I figure if the wreck was my fault and I went through my insurance, they would just total my car out. But when it's through someone else's insurance, what would they do?

For example, my car isn't worth but around $2000 at this point. My dad got an estimate yesterday on his own, and they said the damage is around $4000.

So, would his insurance company give me what the car is worth ($2000) or the amount of the damage ($4000)? I'm hoping for the $4000 since it wasn't my fault. That way I can just take the money, not get my car fixed, and use that money on a new car. Ya know, I was just bee-bopping my way down the street minding my own business when he hit me. It wasn't my fault that he totalled my car. Shouldn't it be my decision as to whether or not I get it fixed?

Also, do they give me a check for the damages or do they make me go to a particular garage to get it fixed and I never see the $?

Anyone know anything about insurance?

8:53 a.m. - 2003-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse