Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Charlie's Angels vs Buffy

Well, I certainly got a lot of responses about my ass growth. Don't worry...it was nothing. Just something called a skin tag that is harmless...and in fact, it says the way to remove them is with a sharp blade or a pair of scissors. So don't worry my little chickadees.

I asked my boss about my status about getting hired on permanently yesterday, and she got that panic-y look in her eyes. She told me that it's just red tape, and that most likely out of PC-ness, they will wait and hire all the contractors on at the same time. You know what? PC-ness can kiss my growth-y ass. I've waited 5 months now. Even though the money is great, I should probably begin to start looking around again. I have no real job security here.

At the same time as all this work mess is transpiring, my apartment is having issues as well. I have learned there is a really big difference between having a landlord and a large managment company, the largest being that they is no maintenance crew to come fix things when they break. For example, the keyless deadbolt broke on my front door, and when I called my landlord, his exact words were "Well, there are two other locks on the door...isn't that sufficient?" Umm...no. Also, the air conditioner hasn't been working all that great, and when the air guy came out last week to look at it, he told me that he didn't think it would last more than another couple of months. Fab. Even though I know it's not my responsibility to take care of getting (or paying) for a new one, I know there will be some sort of opporutunity costs involved such as having to take the day off while they install it. I will have to just stand my ground.

I am beginning my volunteer work again. It's been a loooong time since I've done it, and I start again this weekend. What I'm not thrilled about is that I have to do the orientation again, but que sera. I'll live. I will be volunteering again at one of the AIDS organizations here in Houston. I stopped a couple of years ago when they had me visiting terminal patients, and one day I went to visit one of my regulars that died unbeknownst to me. When I found out, I lost it and told them I couldn't do that anymore. Perhaps they want to check my mental stability and figure out what I'm better suited at. Whatever.

I've tried to get some of my friends to volunteer along with me, but I can't seem to convince anyone at all. I hope to make some new friends by doing this.

Have you ever seen the episode of Friends where Joey and Phoebe bet they can't find one good deed to do for others where they themselves won't benefit in some way or another? That's kinda how I feel now starting my volunteer work again...my main objective is to help others, and if somehow I make myself feel better as a result, then great.

Did I mention that my Charlie's Angels DVD arrived yesterday? I made Carlos watch the most famous episode, and perhaps my most favorite, Angels in Chains. He was like "That fighting is so bootleg compared to like Buffy or Alias". My retort was that they WERE the first Buffy or Sidney Bristow, but don't get me started.

I'll make him keep watching. Mark my words, he'll get hooked. Trust me.

12:42 p.m. - 2003-06-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse