Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

brain diarrhea

My gosh, only two hours left to go today. I hope it flies by.

I spent my lunch break today running around getting a key made for Carlos for the new place. Although we've been there since Saturday, today is the first day we've both needed a key, so I ran by at the beginning of my lunch break, grabbed the one key we have, and ran to the hardware store to have an extra one made. Carlos asks me "Are you going to bring the new one by here so I'll have it tonight?", and I told him that I wouldn't have time because I only get 30 mins for lunch. However I get the key made and have enough time to drop it off, and when I go home, he's in bed asleep! When I woke him up, he told me he didn't have class until 5 tonight...I guess I forgot that. So why was I the one who ran around getting a key made again? He hasn't had anything going on all day.

I do a lot of things that aren't really my responsibility because Carlos really has no idea how the take care of. For example, if I asked him to call and ask a question about the light bill, he would have no idea what to do. If I ask him to order a pizza, he won't make the call because he doesn't know what to say to the person on the other end of the line. And in this case, if I sent him to get a key made, he wouldn't have even the first inclination as to where he should go. He'd end up going to a freaking door store for all I know.

I don't mind doing these things usually. (I usually don't, I swear, even though I have droned on and on here). I just wish he'd learn how to do maybe a few things himself. You know? I'm not always going to be around to help him.

I have a need to mother him I have learned in the last few years. For example, when I met him, he was at a local community college. When I asked him how many hours he had, he told me 130 something. Ummm....what? That's almost more than I had to get my darn Bachelor's. When I asked him what kind of degree plan he was on, he told me he just kinda took classes that were interesting to him. I wasn' t going to have any boyfriend of mine take that approach to college, so I promptly made an appointment with a counselor at UofH and got him on a degree program. So he transferred there a couple of years ago and was almost done with a degree in computer science. Well, remember we broke up in 2001? Man, as soon as we broke up, he went and changed his major to elementary ed and started almost completely over! All those credits for nothing! I could have died when I found that out.

Don't I sound like a controlling mother? I just don't understand though. He was almost done! He told me that he wanted to teach and that was why he changed his major. But it doesn't matter what your freaking degree is in as long as you just get your teaching certification....it can be underwater towel folding for all they care. But I wasn't around to tell him that, and look what happened. So he still has about two more years now thanks to his career change.

Whew! I needed to get that out.

I think I just had brain diarrhea.

2:08 p.m. - 2003-02-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse