Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

holiday hangover

Well my Thanksgiving was okay. I survived. At times I was wondering if I was going to make it, but it's over. Wednesday night, Carlos came over and we went to dinner and I took him to go see his friend in the hospital. We hung around a while, and then I went and spent the night at my parents' house. We got up early Thursday morning and headed out to my grandmother's new place. She recently moved to an assisted living facility, and although her place is like an apartment with a kitchen and a bathroom, 500 square feet just isn't enough room for six people. We were on top of each other.

It was decided on Friday that I should drive a UHaul back to Houston carrying her belongings that she doesn't have room for anymore. Well, it broke down about 3 hours from home and I was stuck in Alto, Texas for hours waiting for a UHaul repair man to come take a look at it. Even though there was a UHaul dealer 12 miles down the road, they sent someone all the way from Houston to take a look at it. I was not well for that...so I hung out in some diner for a while and then took a nap in the truck. Finally the guy showed up and fixed it in 5 minutes. He got under the truck without and flashlight even and replaced a little switch, and voila, it was fixed.

I finally got home around 9:30 Friday night, and let me tell you, I wanted to get stinky drunk. I went to the store and got some beer, and I sat there drinking while watching TV. I must've been exhausted from all the various activities because I woke up at 10 AM the next morning on the couch. I drank 9 beers and then apparently passed out. I was a lightweight.

Saturday night Carlos came over and we watched TV and hung out. We also watched Charlie's Angels. That movie was the bomb, although I didn't like it as much as the TV show. I guess that's the 70's queen in me. I guess that imitation really is the sincerest form of flattery.

Sunday I just hung out all day and cleaned house. I have all this new stuff from my grandmother....for example, she gave me a lamp she always had in her living room, a gas heater that I remember since I was about 3 years old, assorted dishes and plates, etc. I came home and piled it all up on the kitchen table. Lo and behold a few minutes later, I start watching this show on OCD and hoarding...it had all these people's houses where the owner never throws anything away. I look over at my kitchen table, and go EEEKKK! I'm halfway there! So I cleaned house and am slowly getting rid of anything I'm not using. For example, it's a pretty safe bet that if I haven't worn something in two years that I never will, right? I'm a packrat!

Some of these people on this show saved newspapers, used band aids and paper towels, etc. All because they are afraid that they might need them sometime in the future. I see that in me! I save old butter, yogurt, and sour cream containers to put leftovers in. To this day, I still haven't used them. Those things were the first to go yesterday when I was cleaning!

I don't want to see anything even remotely looking like a turkey. We have to eat that again very soon. Which brings me to why Thanksgiving and Christmas so darn close together....here we have to go back up there in three weeks. Whoever planned when the holidays would be sure did a bad job!

10:51 a.m. - 2002-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse