Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For my friend Rick

My friend Rick passed away yesterday. I found out right before I went to bed, and as a result I tossed and turned all night thinking about how terrible AIDS is. Just two years ago Rick and I were laughing and having a good time, riding around listening to 97.9, going out to the bars. I never even knew that he was sick, but before I knew it he had wasted away to skin and bones and didn't recognize us anymore.

AIDS makes me angry. It has taken some great friends from me, some great people away from their families, some great partners away from their significant others. Although I myself am not infected that I know of, the very thought of AIDS humbles me to the core.

How can something as instinctual as sexuality lead to something so terrible that can affect so many people?

Carlos and I are going to the wake tonight. I hope that he can handle it. I hope that I can too....

Rick, you will be missed. Rest in peace, man.

12:37 p.m. - 2002-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse