Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my heart is singing

Well I survived my date. I shall recount my experiences now:

I get to the restaurant and of course, I am about 30 minutes early, so I put my name in for a table and go outside to watch some kids sing karaoke. He shows up on time, but he is inside, while he told me to meet him outside, and I come in and find him on his cell phone. He talks for about 10 minutes or so while I look at my feet, and then finally gets off and we chat a bit before we get our table.

So we ate dinner, and he pulls his phone out of his pocket about 10 times asking "Was that my phone?" But I overlook it and just smile my little face off. I did notice that conversation didn't flow quite like it did on the first date. We had a hard time keeping it going.

Well after dinner, we had planned too much time between eating and the movie, so we had an hour to kill so we began to go wander around. Well, the movie theater we went to isn't just a theater...it's one of those huge complexes that has something like 10 restaurants, a mini-mall, a skating rink, a bowling alley, etc. You get the gist...

So we wander around a bit.

Oh I forgot something about dinner...he sees a girl through the window and waves at her and makes a face like "Oh shit..." So she comes in and I meet her, but I can tell that something is up. At this point I still am not sure.

Back to wandering around. We decide to go in this huge place called Jillian's and get a drink while we wait. Again, there we run into that girl only now with her boyfriend. I am introduced to him, but he too acts really weird. They make small talk for a couple of minutes and then we say we will go upstairs to the club in a few to have a drink with them.

So after they walk off, he says "I need to talk to you about something." So we wander off to a quiet spot and he tells me that those two are best friends with a guy that he used to go out with that he just broke up with a month ago.

Well, big deal. Everyone has an ex...granted a month isn't a long time.

So I tell him that I would prefer not to go have a drink with those two upstairs and we head for the theater. In that time, he checked his phone again about 10 times, and called a couple of people while we were walking/standing in line. So before the movie starts, he says he has got to go get a drink and is gone quite a long time with me sitting there by myself. Well, cut to an hour later and this time he has to go to the bathroom. I know these were an excuse to go call someone...not really sure who that was. Perhaps it had something to do with those two we saw earlier.

So the movie was good. He had walked to the movie because he lives across the street so we walk to my car and I drive him home. He asked me in and told him that I was tired and wanted to go home to bed. He apologized about all the drama with his friends, and I told him no sweat. Things like that happen...

I hugged him and drove off.

That was my bizarre date.

He is a very nice guy. I think that he has issues right now though and I can't get involved in that at this point in my life.

One more thing...our first date was sitting at a restaurant. Well, this date was walking, moving around, etc., and as shallow as it is to say, he really is quite feminine. More that he showed the other night, and I'm just not attracted to that. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but just not my type.

Perhaps I am rationalizing by finding fault with him as why I don't want to go out with him anymore and I don't want to blame it on his issues. So be it.

One more thing....has anyone ever seen someone out and wondered what it would be like to date them because you think they are the shit? Then lo and behold you get that opportunity, you find that they really aren't your type at all.

That's what happened here.

And for the first time in a long time, I am the one deciding that someone is not quite the one for me.

It is liberating.

My heart is singing right now.

9:06 a.m. - 2002-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse