Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

running to the future

I got this email from Danny yesterday:

Hey Jonathan-

Sorry I've been so out of sorts lately. I'm not really sure what's going on... I'll try and explain better later- I just wanted to say a quick 'hello'.

Well, yes, he has been out of sorts, but he doesn't have to bother with explanations. I already know he has issues.

He and I had tentative plans to go do something tonight, but given the current state of affairs, I don't see that coming to fruition. I won't allow it.

I went running last night on the track around Rice University. I probably ran close to five miles, and I ran and ran as if my past was chasing me. Past the huge old oak trees, past the other runners, past the buildings.

At one point, I ran by a beautiful old church that had a sign that said "Open for Prayer" out front. I walked up and looked around, and I felt such an overwhelming urge to go in. I actually walked up the stairs, then retreated back down out of fear. I then circled the building two times trying to find the courage to go in. I'm ashamed to say that I never did. There were people milling around inside and I was afraid if I walked in someone would yell "What are you doing in here?!!"

So I just ran off without doing anything, mentally making a note of their website listed on the sign. I will check it out today.

On the way home, it suddenly hit me. I realized that maybe I'm not running from my past anymore....

Quite possibly I'm running towards my future.

8:30 a.m. - 2002-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse