Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rosier in retrospect

I have got to get out of this reminiscent weird phase that I've been in the last few days. For example, I look back at movies in my Blockbuster queue that I rented 2 years ago and think back to when I watched them. I then think stuff like "boy, those really were the good old days", yet at the time I wasn't really all THAT happy. Funny how everything is rosier in retrospect.

What is so wicked about this time I'm at right now is how I tend to look back when I'm newly sober and marvel at how great things were. I know that not too far in the distant future, I'll look back at the Fall of 2008 and it will be the good old days. September totally fucking sucked. October couldn't help but be better because that's when I sobered up. If I continue on this path, in November perhaps confetti will shoot out of my ass I'll be so happy.

One thing I do know is that I have GOT to start living in the present moment. I spend so much time wallowing in the past or waiting for some event in the future. For example, in high school, I knew that college would be the good old days. Then when I was in college, the time after I graduated would definitely be the good old days. Then once I started working, I knew that if I lived in another city, it would be the good old days. I never actually enjoyed what I was doing at the time because I was so busy thinking about what I could do to make things better in the future.

Bleh. This entry has turned into an Oprah topic.

1:49 p.m. - 2008-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse