Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

carefully crafted veneer

I had such a quiet weekend....I spent almost the whole time reading and napping. It was great.

Friday night I left work and ran home to grab some clothes so I could head to Greg's house. Greg's been working his ass off lately, and when he got home around 6:30 we went to La Madeleine for dinner and then went home to watch TV. We went to bed around 10:30. Quiet night.

Well, as I mentioned before, Greg is a contractor, and he's working overtime getting a rich lady's house ready for the holidays. He had to work all weekend, so he left for work around 7:30 AM, so I went ahead and got dressed and went on home. When I got there, I crawled back in bed and slept until 2:00! That's so not like me! After taking a super long bath and reading more of A Million Little Pieces, I got dressed and went back to Greg's house to walk his dogs and wait for him to get home. He finally got home around 8:30, we ate dinner, then went to bed.

Sunday was a big repeat of Saturday, only at 10:30 Carlos met me at Bally's to take the yoga class I'd gone to the week before. I think he really enjoyed it. I on the other hand don't know if I can keep up with it.....I'm just not in the kind of shape to take an hour long class without getting so winded that I have to rest halfway through. It almost killed me. By the end of the class, I was lying on the mat trying to catch my breath. I think that smoking all that shit really fucked up my lungs. I wish they had a 30 minute class...an hour is too long for me.

Anywho, after yoga, we went to Teotihuacan for lunch....I love me some Mexican food. After that I went home and read/bathed/napped until time to go back to Greg's house to walk the dogs and wait for him. He got home right when Desperate Housewives started, so we ate and watched that before it was time for me to get home and into bed. It was a good episode! I can't wait until next week though when Bree shoots the nuts off that crazy pharmacist.

Greg's sister and brother in law are flying into town tomorrow night for 4 days. I've never met them before, and from what I understand she is fiercely protective of Greg. The cherry on top is that she's a lawyer, and I fully expect to be raked over the coals. I'm just going to try to be charming and see how things go from there. I just pray that Greg hasn't told her of my recent troubles.

I seem to be having that problem....my friends blabbing all my biz to everyone. Carlos told all of his friends that I'm in recovery...whether or not that is because he's proud of me, I'm not sure. I just get uncomfortable with peeps knowing my business, however I guess I shouldn't have done anything that I didn't want the world to know. That brings up something that I've been thinking about lately....the fact that I made such a bad reputation for myself here in Houston after all that. As I've mentioned, I was online when I met the people I would use with, and Houston is the smallest big city ever. Someone knows someone that knows someone that knows me, and word got out that I was a total mess. I mean, anyone that would have met me and said that I was messy would not have been lying, but it still stings that I managed to crack my carefully crafted veneer. Did I ever mention that I initally met Greg online months ago? Out of the blue he sent me a note saying that I was cute and it was a shame I was a druggie, but he didn't mess with losers. At the time I thought "who the fuck does he think he is? He doesn't even know me!". Later after I cleaned myself up and we actually met, I asked him how he knew what I was doing back then to which he responded that everyone knew. Everyone knew. Ouch.

Should I care that people think I'm a loser? Probably not. Do I care? Of course I do. However I will recite my favorite quote again...failure is defined by our reaction to it. And I think I'm reacting pretty darn well.

4:01 p.m. - 2005-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse