Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I love Charo

I love 4 day work weeks. I think they should become the norm. When I worked for Shell, they had flex hours where you could work 10 hour days and then get one extra day off, but the people who did that said that 10 hours made for a really LONG day. I'd probably do it if they offered it here.

Oh man, they freaking opened a Chick Fil A in my building. When we moved here, everyone was all pissed off that they didn't have a deli or anything, so everyone had to leave the building if they didn't bring their lunch and wanted to eat lunch. So they got a contract with Chick Fil A, and they opened today. I'm going to end up weighing 400 lbs. I did go work out yesterday after work, which is something I haven't done in a long, long time. I've been occasionally hitting the gym on the weekends, but after work, no way. I found out that if I get Carlos to meet me there, I will go. Yesterday I showed up and he was already there riding the Lifecycle, so I got on the elliptical trainer and went to work. He didn't notice me there for close to 15 minutes, and when he finally did, he came over and asked why I didn't tell him I was there. I wanted to watch him and observe how he reacted to all the other boys there at the gym. He looked around every once in a while when someone hot walked by, but all in all he behaved himself. Even if he hadn't, I wouldn't have cared. I'm just not the jealous type.

So after burning 300 calories on the ellip trainer, what do I do on the way home but stop and get chinese takeout for dinner. Ugh. We ate it sitting on the couch while watching a rerun of The Surreal Life. Again, Charo is the bomb. "Spooning lead to forking". Forking awesome.

Have I mentioned that I got on the Kabbalah website a few months ago and signed up to be sent some free information? Well, I filled out a form with both my email address, phone #, and home address, and since then I have been inundated with calls and information. A guy has called me almost daily just to see how I'm doing and try to see if I'd be interested in attending some sort of class here in Houston. I'm getting to where whenever I see a 800 # on my caller ID, I don't answer the phone. You gotta give them an E for effort.

I did get an interesting email today from the Kabbalah center. Just about daily they send some sort of little tidbit of info, and today's topic is on impatience. It says that impatience is stopping you from changing. It says the antidote is to stand there, be present in the moment, and appreciate. That really resonated with me for some reason. I am so busy trying to acquire something new that I never really take the time to appreciate the things that I already have. For example, after I was laid off (fired) from my last job, I sat around thinking how easy I had it there. Why did I have to lose my job to begin to appreciate how lucky I was? Why do we have to lose something to begin to value its worth? Don't know what ya got until it's gone.

I guess when I get down on my current job I need to try to remember how it felt when I didn't have one at all. That devil that is always sitting on my shoulder knows what buttons to push with me because it knows where my insecurities lie.

After reading this email today, I might look into going to a meeting. What can it hurt?

What am I going to do tomorrow night to keep myself from drinking? It better be something good.

11:31 a.m. - 2004-09-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse