Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what if...

07/30/2004 -

Friday, glorious Friday. I already wrote an entry once and then lost the whole thing, so I'm determined this one is a keeper. I'm in a bit of a funk today. I'm not necessarily in a bad mood per se, however I am a bit frustrated. The togetherness thing with the two in my carpool is a bit much seeing as how we ride together 45 minutes here, sit together 4 hours at our desks, eat lunch together, sit at our desks together another 4 hours, and then ride home 45 minutes. All in all, that's about as much heterosexual female as I can stand in a stretch. And now that we have cubicles where we sit and look at each other all day, it makes it even worse. I'm over it.

I am fully convinced that one of the girls in my carpool quit her job today. She met with our supervisor for about an hour, and I heard her tell someone later that she hadn't slept all night thinking about what she was going to have to say. Then she sat down at her desk and made a big production about having to write some sort of "letter", which I assume was her resignation letter. I've spent a ton of time with this girl, and I have been pretty forthcoming about pretty much everything about me. I am not quite sure why she wouldn't tell me that she was going to give her notice, if that is the case. I have sworn for years that I'd learn to be a little more circumspect, however I am not seeing myself do that anytime soon. I tell my most innermost secrets to strangers on the street, and I have always been somewhat unapologetic about it.

08/02/2004 -

I was right. That girl in my carpool gave her notice on Friday. She said that we was given strict orders not to tell anyone otherwise they would tell her to pack her stuff and leave now. I'm not quite sure why they are trying to keep things mum, perhaps for morale reasons? I can see that morale is going in the toilet. There were 8 of us, and now there are only 4 of the original 8 that are still in the same position. My backup retired in April, one girl in my carpool got another job in the logistics department, the other girl in my carpool quit to go to another company, and then that bitch that I used to bicker with moved to work at one of our satellite offices closer to her house. So my chances of ever moving into another job are slim to none. They can't have all new people out here doing this job.

So now I'm jealous. I mean, she's got a really good work history as she's done consulting for both Enron and Accenture, so she is extremely overqualified for the position we have here. So I shouldn't be jealous. But I am. Of course, if I was actually actively looking for another job I might have a better leg to stand on. I need to start looking! But I sure am enjoying having good benefits. Ugh.

My weekend was good, although I must say it went way too quickly. Friday night I went home and napped, and then around 6:00 Carlos and I went to eat. You know, I can't remember where we ate for the life of me. Then we went home and watched TV and then went to bed. Ho hum. Saturday I went to the hospital to hang out with my folks. My dad isn't doing that great....his kidneys are starting to fail. They also have him on oxygen. It was sad to see him like that, but I go up there and just act like I always do. I think that acting horrified by how bad he looks is the worst thing that I can do.

So I ended up staying at the hospital until around 8:00, and then I went home and hung out with Carlos before he went out for the night. I just didn't feel like going, and after my day's events at the hospital, I just wanted to relax. So, Greg came over and picked him up, and I loved his new car. He got one of those cool looking new Volvos, and I must say he must be spending a pretty penny on it. After they left, I got online and chatted with some folks and tossed back a few beers. It hit the spot. I then stayed up until 2 AM reading old journal entries I'd made years ago. I've kept a journal in some form or another since I was 12 years old. I brought a journal to work with me today that I kept back in 1993. If I have time, I might write some of it here.

Anywho, Sunday I got up, went grocery shopping, then ran home to change to go shopping with my mother. I picked her up at the hospital and we headed to the Galleria. I found a pair of really nice wool pants on sale for cheeeeeaap at Bachrach, and then I got a couple of dress shirts at Foley's for only $10 each. Score! We then had lunch at Ninfa's and then went back to the hospital.

We made my dad get up out of bed and walk around some. The doctor has been telling him that he can't just lie in bed, that he has got to get up and at least walk around a little bit. So we got him out of bed and made me walk around the halls of the hospital a little bit. Every time he gets up, he pees all over himself, and my mother spends all her time washing pajamas and various things that he's peed on. I feel sorry for both of them. I hope he gets to go home soon.

I have been so much more adventurous lately than I've been in years. I went to the Galleria on Friday with Carlos to shop for him some pants, then Saturday I went to the hospital for a few hours, and then yesterday went back to the Galleria with my mother to shop some more. Now I know what everyone is thinking....big deal, right? Keep in mind that I've sat at home for quite a while now, and something as simple as going to the mall could bring on a huge panic attack for me. What if I didn't find a place to park? What if I got mugged? What if I got in a wreck in the parking lot? What if, what if....

I think my new adventurism is because of the medication. I am starting to feel somewhat normal again.

9:01 a.m. - 2004-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse