Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

TGIF?

Man, I'm really not feeling good this morning. I can't figure out why I'm not feeling any better yet. Now that I have insurance again, I might have to bite the bullet and go to the doctor if I'm not feeling better by Monday. If I'm not dead by then that is...

My backup called in sick today, therefore I am going to have a horrendous day today because I am responsible for all his work in his absence. His excuse was that his dad broke his foot and he needed to go visit him in San Antonio. I guess that he forgot that just two weeks ago he told me that he and his dad hadn't spoken in 10 years and his dad had skipped his wedding. They sure made up out of the blue, no? I have such an issue with people calling out sick for work. I mean it...if I ever don't come to work, it means that I'm somewhere lying in the hospital. I just don't expect others to do my work for me, nor do I feel I should be expected to continuously cover for others. I feel like smoking.

I wish I could stop smoking those couple of cigarettes that I smoke a day. In fact, I went home on lunch today and smoked one out on the patio before I came back to work. You know I have such a double standard when it comes to smoking. I myself don't much care for smokers. I don't like the smell. I don't like working with smokers because they manage to take a heck of a lot of breaks at work "because they smoke", yet if a non-smoker spent that much time not working, it would be an issue. I think smoking is very unattractive. Yet I smoke, even if it is only a few a week. I think I'm addicted to the psychological aspect of smoking rather than to the nicotine itself. After smoking for 15 years, talk about being a habit. And remember my last entry about how easily I can create a habit?

I also put a rosy glow on things when I look back. I think back to when I first went off to college and could smoke any time I wanted, and I think "God, that was such a great time in my life," even though it was not.

I even look back at the year 2001 with rose colored glasses at times. I was unemployed, drinking every night of the week, barely scraping by financially, and so abysmally low that I'm not sure how I made it. Yet my mind has somehow made it a good time....man, getting drunk every night while watching old reruns on TV was awesome. Now that's a good time!

Whatevs.

Changing the subject, have I ever mentioned that I have an email pen pal that lives here in Houston, yet I have no idea what he looks like? Or at least I didn't until the day before yesterday.

My pen pal found my diary online about a year ago, and after emailing me once, we've just been emailing back and forth regularly since. Many times we've discovered we were in the same place at the same time.

So here's my story: I went to Cafe Express for lunch a couple of days ago with some coworkers, and when we couldn't find anywhere to sit in the main dining room, we found a table over in the corner by the side door. When I sat down I noticed two rowdy Asian girls sitting with a white guy in a suit at the table adjacent to ours. These girls were so loud that we all commented that we could barely hear each other talk. I didn't think too much about it except for feeling sorry for the guy and thinking he must have nerves of steel.

Later that night at home, I got an email from my pen pal mentioning he'd had Cafe Express for lunch, and I write back and say "Me too!". He writes back saying he was there with a couple of Asian girls, and aha! It was my pen pal.

So that is my story. I now know what he looks like. Quite a coincidence considering that we live in a town of 4,000,000 plus people, no?

I guess the moral of the story is that it's a small world and we should be on our best behavior because we never know who is watching. Not that my pen pal wasn't...I mean maybe I wasn't on my best behavior that day when I was laughing so hard I was snorting at lunch.

THE END

7:50 a.m. - 2004-06-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse