Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how to keep a job for dummies

My BF is probably going to get fired from his job. He called just a minute ago and told me that he and one of his coworkers at the bank he works at were joking around about a customer, and he thought it would be funny to write "fucking wetback" about someone on the back of a receipt to show his friend. Well, turns out they leave it sitting there on the counter and his friend accidentally gave it to a customer....a hispanic one! Well, when the lady saw it, she was not amused. The manager there told Carlos that they'd deal with it when he returns to work on Sunday. At first he thought he may just get written up, however I am skeptical about his punishment being so lax.

He called again later and told me not to be disappointed in him. I mean, what can I say about it? Look what I did at my last job. I guess neither one of us have a clue as to how to keep a job. Ha. We really are cut from the same cloth. When I was laid off, I said the exact same thing to him....I hoped I hadn't disappointed him. I'm not disappointed that he might get laid off. I am disappointed that he made a bad decision. I am disappointed he didn't tear the damn note up afterwards. Oh well.

Speaking of work, my boss hates me now that I told her how much I loathe it there. I'm not sure what I was trying to accomplish by doing that, and in the long run I think I just showed her that no matter what she tries to do to make me happy there, I'm not ever going to pleased doing that job. Well, she's right. I found out today that this summer, our offices are moving to the Woodlands, which is about 30 miles north of here where I work and live. That would mean a 45 minute commute one way, and we all know how I feel about driving. Most of the employees are pretty upset about it, and it should be interesting to see how many people end up quitting over it. Pretty dumb move if you ask me. People don't like change, much less something as huge as this.

With Carlos, I told him that everything happens for a reason. Granted, this is something he did to himself, however I've been trying to get him to get a job closer to home for years anyways. He's a bank teller, and he drives 25 miles one way to work. I tell him that he can find something MUCH closer to home at another bank, however he wants to stay there because he's been there for the last 7 years. He is spending an absolute fortune on both gas and upkeep on his car. I guess that could be a silver lining.

Ugh.

8:12 p.m. - 2004-01-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse