Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy birfday!

I feel the need to make a big entry. I need to make up for lost time. After writing every day for the last three years, I find myself missing it.

I'm at my horrid temp job. Now don't get me wrong, my boss is nice as can be. He hangs over my shoulder a bit, however I think he just does it to keep me from getting bored. Plus I think he's used to managing a bunch of retards. I really do hope that this job will end next Friday as I have lots in the works next week.

Yesterday after work, I went to my agency I was with at my last job. I had left messages with them to get in touch with me, and I couldn't understand why they wouldn't call me back. I figured they were angry with me because of what happened when the client company decided not to hire me, but rather, they were angry with them too. As it turns out, I moved back in February and didn't give them my new address and phone number. In the past, whenever they needed to get in touch with me, they'd just call me there at work.

So here's the juice: my agency had worked with that company for YEARS, and they even had an office there in that building my company owned. Well, when the big conglomerate company took us over, they fired my agency, and they found out one day when they came in to work and the locks had been changed. Classy, huh?

So to make a long story short, my agency was more than happy to help me find something else. They just couldn't get in touch with me.

So I went there yesterday after work and sat down with them, and they are already sending me on two interviews. One with another HUGE oil and gas company downtown, and the other with with a data analysis company that is also DT. They told me not to even worry about the interviews, that these companies always hire whomever the agency recommends. So far they have been correct. Both jobs they've sent me on, I interviewed on Friday and then started on Monday. Gotta love it. And on both, the money is pretty darn good. Not as good as I was making, but I have to consider that brief time a gift from above.

The clincher...they asked me if I could start on Monday. I told them I had to finish this job I had committed myself to. So basically I'm going to finish this job next week and then supposed start the other job the following Monday if things work out. yippee!

I'm looking forward to working DT again. Even though the parking sucks donkey dick, there are places to go on lunch. I miss the dollar store, Zydeco for lunch, and hanging out with K. I can go to Foley's again just because, and I can also hang out with Connie again.

I've been a bit nostalgic lately, perhaps from all the time on my hands. I know that working here in the Medical Center, it reminds me of when I worked over here during the 1999-2000 season. I work off on Main Street practically in the parking lot of the Astrodome, and it seems so strange now to look out and see the new football stadium, the Reliant Somethingorother. They've really cleaned up Main Street in the last 3 1/2 years. When I worked down here, there were prostitutes still hanging out on the corner when I came to work in the morning. I guess they're trying to clean everything up for the Super Bowl that will be here in January. Good fucking luck. Downtown is still a mess. I used to catch my bus to go home on the other side of Main Street downtown, and let me tell you, it was hard to keep the bums from peeing or barfing on me. In fact, I went down there a couple of weeks ago to have lunch with K, and we got a laugh out of the homeless people that were bathing in the new fountains they've put up.

I went and had lunch with Donnie, one of my old coworkers from the aforementioned 1999/2000 job, yesterday at Annie's. It's a little hamburger dive we used to eat at, and walking in the doors brought back a flood of memories. That was probably the most fun I've ever had at a job. I'm not sure why I got so mad at quit there! Same thing with my next job....well, a big pay increase had something to do with it. And remember Mimi, my evil coworker? Well she's still there...I know that because I emailed Connie who now does my old job, and she told me that Mimi is now making HER life miserable. Ahh, consistency.

Back to the 1999/2000 job, we had a ton of fun there. I almost didn't even consider it work, per se. Lori, my office partner was a married woman 15 years my senior, and when they put me in there, I was wondering what we'd ever have in common. Well, turns out, Lori was CRAZY fun. We played practical jokes on everyone until they hated us. For example:

1) one day our employer decided to have a morale boosting party, and one thing we had to do was write one thing about ourselves that no one else there knew. You know something cute like "No one knows that I like to crochet..." Blah. We had to write it on a little slip of paper and then fold it up and put it in a box. They would then later at the meeting reach in the box, grab a piece of paper and read what it said aloud. Then everyone would have to guess who it was. Fun, huh?

Not until Lori and I realized that no one was watching the box. We made up a ton of good "surprises" all having to do with Mr. Landis, our slug VP who looked a bit like Jabba the Hut.

Anywho, later at the meeting, everything is running smoothly. All the important people were there, including Mr. Landis. Everyone had put cute things on their slips of paper like "No one else here knows I'm a twin." Yawn.

Then finally, pandemonium. The dumbass whose turn it was pulled out a piece of paper and read aloud:

"I want to have anal sex with Mr. Landis".

Lori and I about peed in our pants laughing. It was pretty much easy to guess who did it.

We never played that game ever again.

2) Lori's and my boss Laci was about as dumb as a rock. She was the butt of pretty much everyone's jokes around there. Well, one day we convinced the stud down in accounting (Accounting Stud) that Laci had a big crush on him. Lori and I further convinced him of this by getting on Laci's computer almost daily when she went to lunch and emailing AS from Laci's email saying things like "Just wanted to tell you to have a good day! :) ". You know, barfy stuff like that.

Well, one day on lunch we took a picture we had of Laci to Eckerd's and had a mouse pad made with her picture on it. We then proceeded to sneak into work early one morning and take AS's mouse pad and replace it with the Laci one. He called us later that morning and said "You won't believe this! Laci had a mouse pad made with her picture and put it on my desk!"

I still have that stupid thing somewhere.

Here's where it really gets good:

On AS's birthday, Lori and I bought him a really suggestive birthday card and signed Laci's name to it. We were about to take it down to his office when Laci suddenly showed up at our door. When we asked her what she was doing she told us she was on her way downstairs to tell AS happy birthday. So I say "Laci, do us a favor and take this down to him when you go..." and I gave her the card. The one that had her name signed to it!

So Lori and sneak after her to see what happens. When Laci showed up at AS's door, he looked like a deer caught in headlights. She says "AS, I just wanted to come down here and wish you a HAPPY BIRFDAY!!! And this is for you!" and she gives him the card.

She fucking said it like that. She then proceeds to give him a big hug and then leave his office.

Apparently AS read the sexy card that was from "Laci" and was completely freaked out. Our gag couldn't have gone any better.

He found another job not too long after that.

Now don't you wish that you worked with me?

10:50 a.m. - 2003-11-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse