Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

alive and kicking

Goodness, are there any jobs in Houston right now? I learned something interesting that I didn't know until a minute ago. I have been emailing resumes like crazy from my AOL account, and I couldn't understand why I wasn't getting any responses on anything. Turns out that when I started this job here at the hospital, I resent my resumes to some of them using my work email address, and sure enough, I at least got a note back in some cases saying the positions had been filled. So I emailed Carlos at work with my AOL account to test it, and he told me that their spam blocker had filtered it out. So anyone who is looking for a job right now, that's your tip for the day: don't email your resume from AOL because chances are it won't make it there. I mean, geez, it wasn't like my screenname [email protected] or anything. It's just my first initial and my last name.


So this hospital gig isn't really all that bad. It just seemed it at first because I'm not used to 40 hour weeks anymore, however every day gets easier and easier. The work is simple, however the pay is simple too. I made more money than this selling shoes in college. However there are some good aspects to this: 1) I'm obviously making more money that I would be sitting at home in front of the computer jerking off all day long, 2) it gives me some sense of accomplishment that I'm getting up, getting dressed, and going somewhere every day, 3) it keeps me from drinking my problems away because I have to be in bed by 10 every night, and 4) it gives me a sort of "ground control", or an office if you will, where I have a desk and a computer that can be used to look for another job. Potential employers are just as likely to call if I'm at home as when I'm at a contract job, no? So there you have it. I really am trying to "make lemonade".


I'm thinking that I might have to go back to school as horrific as that thought sounds. Working in IT, my skills just aren't as current as I (and potential employers) would like.

12:34 p.m. - 2003-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse