Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

umm.....yeah

I started writing an entry yesterday afternoon three times, but I just wasn't into it. I'm not sure if I am now. I only have the same things to whine about :

work

being sick

Let's start with work. My boss came to me yesterday afternoon and told me that Talent Acquisition (that's what our HR is called here...la di da!) called and told her that everything was a go and to plan on my first day being tomorrow. Now I don't want to count my chickens before they hatch, but it looks like everything is ok. Since I am predisposed to worrying my ass off all the time, I'm not sure if I'll feel completely secure until I've been in the position for 6 months. LOL...

Anywho, I'm just plugging away pretending that I'm not worried about a thing.

Being sick: I think I see the light at the end of the tunnel. I read in Thom's diary that he has the exact same thing that I do. Guess it's just that time of the year.

It's been so gloomy outside for the last few days, and I'm sick of it. When I look out the window right now, it looks like it would be really cold out from the gray skies, but I know it's like 80 degrees out. I wish we actually had seasons down here. I remember when I was in Ohio at this time two years ago...the trees were changing colors and it was beautiful. I'd only seen that before in pictures.

Changing the subject, Carlos was telling me about a little girl in one of his classes that he's student teaching. Her name is Yvonne, and she's 6. Well, yesterday Carlos was working with her, and she suddenly asked him if he'd ever seen any of the Nightmare of Elm Street movies. When Carlos said yes, she started singing that song:

"One, two, Freddy's coming after you.
Three, four, better lock the door..."

Carlos said he was totally freaked out because Yvonne had this really creepy look on her face. Can you imagine a 6 year old watching that movie? I saw the first movie when I was 14 at a birthday party, and I was so scared that I spent the night talking to the birthday girl's mother out in the garage while she made ceramic stuff. I was a nerd. Movies like that still kinda freak me out.

For example, when the Blair Witch Project came out, my friend Thomas begged me to go see it with him. When it opened the only place it was playing was at the old River Oaks theater that only has two screens. We waited in line 2 hours to get tickets, and I didn't have any idea what I was about to see. All I know is that it scared the living shit out of me. That night, no matter how hard I tried to go to sleep, I kept hearing those noises that they heard in the movie that sounded like rocks being rubbed together. Keep in mind that I lived at the practically at the intersection of Westheimer and Montrose, which is one of the busiest intersections in Houston, so I was hardly out in the woods. But I was still scared so I slept on the couch that night with all the lights on. Keep in mind that I was 27 years old.

I hate horror movies.

Mario is begging Carlos and I to go see The Texas Chainsaw Massacre with him this weekend, however I just don't think that I can stomach it.

Speaking of Mario, I dropped off the two bags of clothes he gave me at Goodwill Saturday afternoon. Wouldn't you know that Sunday I get a call from him?

"Hi Jonathan...this is Mario. I know I gave you those clothes, but there's a pair of black pants in there that I need back if you haven't become too attached to them. I've started singing in the choir at church, and they ask that we all wear black pants under our robes....can you call me back and let me know when I can come by and get them?"

Honey, they're already at Goodwill. I haven't called him back yet. What am I going to tell him? "Your pants were so ugly that I gave them away the first opportunity I had?"

Umm....yeah. (that's my ode to Office Space, the greatest movie ever made)

9:38 a.m. - 2003-10-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse