Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

advice?

I don't care to get into details, but I fudged a bit about a detail on my resume, and yesterday the corporate HR person called to get more details because they couldn't find anything to substantiate what I said I had done. Well, to be honest, I had a year where I worked at a crappy job (1998), and one day I got mad and just walked out never to return. So rather than put them on my resume, I just said that I'd gone back to school for a while. Well, unbeknownst to me, thanks to the fucking internet, potential employers will as little as a credit card can request your transcript online.

So to make a long story short, they are pulling my transcript to see that I was not in school in 1998, and when it all comes to fruition, I expect to be ushered out of here by the end of the day tomorrow. No kidding. My company has this "Integrity Policy" where if they find out you've fudged on your resume by even a month, they consider that terms for dismissal.

You know, I've had many jobs in the past, but I've never had this be an issue. However going to work for the company I have been contracting with is somewhat akin to joining the CIA. Has anyone else ever had to have a psych evaluation or a physical as terms of potential employment? Geez Louise.

So I might have just lied myself out of a job. I went out to dinner with Maddey last night, and I spilled the beans about what I had done. She and I put our heads together to see what type of reparation could be done, and all we can think to do is just be honest. LOL...honesty is the best policy (if you can't think of a good lie to get out of it).

So that's is what is going on here. I also told Carlos all about it last night, as well as calling the folks to prepare them in the event I am unemployed. The market isn't that great right now, but fortunately I keep my eyes open all the time and already have a couple of leads. And I can always temp or do more contract work even though I'd rather have my eyes poked out.

Whenever things get tough with me, I tend to just bail...just like I did that job in 1998. My first reaction was to just come in early this morning, clean out my office, and just disappear. However I know I just can't do that.....I have to wait and see what happens. But it's so much easier to just bail and not deal with the consequences.

So you give me your thoughts...what would you do? Would you wait and see what happens and stay on the sinking ship, or would you exit gracefully before people start asking a lot of questions.

Please advise.

9:00 a.m. - 2003-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse