Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

one year

On Friday at the gym, I did these, and today I feel like I was shot in the stomach with a shotgun. I guess that's a good thing, but I'm hobbling around like Mr. Magoo this morning. I never realized how many things you use your abs for while doing it, such as getting out of bed.

Yesterday was a really good day. I crammed as much as I could into 24 hours, and I'm thrilled with everything I did. I worked out, I tanned, I had lunch with that guy that keeps asking me out (more about that in a sec). I also went on a glorious bike ride, read a great book, had dinner with friends, went to hear a wonderful speaker at the center, then came home around 9:30 and watched an episode of Moving Up before retiring to bed with my book. That was my Saturday in list form.

So about the dude I had lunch with: I saw him at the gym yesterday morning, and he asked if I wanted to grab a bite to eat with him after we were done working out. I told him that I didn't have any other clothes to put on because I'd planned on going straight home afterward, and he said that if I wore my sweaty clothes, he would too. So we went to Hickory Hollow and had barbecue. Afterward, he asked if I wanted to go swim at his house, and I said OK. I didn't have a swimsuit, so I swam naked (he has a backyard pool and a tall fence). Nothing lewd or lascivious happened tho, and it wasn't like he hadn't seen me naked at the gym before, so it was a little more innocent that it sounds. I've always said that I wasn't shy about my body, and looking back over my old diary entries, I guess I'm really not.

Anywho, not sure what I'm going to do with that. I know I'm not ready to get into a relationship however, but nothing wrong with naked pool parties, right? LOL.

For some reason in this blog, I feel compelled to list my activities, where I didn't so much in my old one. I'm not sure where that comes from, but I like it because I can look back exactly one year later and see what I did.

Speaking of one year, today is my AA one year birthday. I have been a sober member of Alcoholics Anonymous for exactly one year today, and I plan to spend it reflecting over what exactly has changed during the last year, which in one word is EVERYTHING. Everything has changed, some completely, some just a wee bit, but in essence everything in my world has changed for the better. Today I think before I act, then if necessary I take responsibility for my actions.

At one point yesterday when I was riding my bike, I was at the top of a big hill in White Oak Park, and something compelled me to get off my bike and sit down, and I realized that I had the most beautiful view of downtown Houston I've ever seen where I wasn't riding in a car. I began to thank God for all the blessings in my life, and before I knew it tears were welling up in my eyes. Tears of gratitude. Life is good.

Here, I took a cell phone picture of what I was looking at. Not the best picture, but you get the idea.

skyline


7:57 a.m. - 2007-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse