Welcome to my happily ever after...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

car shopping

I find it interesting that I entries I write that I think will provoke the most responses don't, and the lame ones about taking a dump make my guestbook a free-for-all. Go figure.

I'm going to go buy a car this weekend. I still don't know what is going on with my car, as I don't have an appointment to have the adjuster look at it until Friday at 8 AM. While on the phone with her on Monday, I mentioned that I had gotten an estimate on it myself and that I'm sure the car was totalled because it was way more than the car was worth. She told me not to count on that, that my estimate was using NEW parts, and when the insurance company estimates the damage, they will figure it using USED parts. Now excuse me...I realize I don't have a new car. In fact, it's far from it. But when I'm driving down the road and someone barrels into me and it's not my fault, I think I should get new parts. Call me crazy. I think used parts should only be used when MY insurance is fixing my car.

Anywho, back to car shopping. I figure I'm going to put half down on the car price to make my payments pretty low. Also, I guess I need to talk to the insurance company about getting insurance on a new vehicle.

I was initially looking at Honda Civic coupes until I found out they are on the top 10 most expensive cars to insure. That's right...Civic coupes. Something about them getting stolen often and the value of the parts on the street. It was right behind the Corvette on the list. Gimme a break.

So then I looked at the cheapest cars to insure. It included such dandies as almost all the Buicks, a couple of Oldsmobiles, and a large number of minivans. No thanks.

So I have no idea what to get. Any suggestions?

11:52 a.m. - 2003-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

other diaries:

teacherlady2
fergie
smokefree-me
soberjourney
bookafly
miedema2002
dvlsh1
epiphany
take-two
shinythings-
madrigle
non-descript
marn
unclebob
evany
mackaj
kimnsrv
pocket-pool
prophecyboy
porktornado
mammas-pills
whiskeyblood
haloaskew
dragprincess
stepfordtart
peteypuke
ohio21boy
lvrebelman
hanknbg
urbancadence
djraindog
dangerspouse